High Five! Comics

Thanks a Lot for Ruining Curious George, Jerk.

Posted on: August 12, 2009

Comic book fans are lucky. The creators we look up to are far more accessible than most. Lord knows we made the high fiving arms of some of our favorite writers and artists sore at SDCC this year. In fact, Rob and I accosted Dan DiDio himself for high fives just after the DC Editor-in-Chief himself pulled an Anti-Monitor action figure out of a bag, proclaiming that it was AWESOME.
Apparently, the figure wasn’t actually for sale, just on display. DiDio wanted to buy it, and the vendor refused until he said, “I’m Dan DiDio! Let me buy the Anti-Monitor!” or something to that effect. Seriously, all geeks should be so lucky. Mr. DiDio also proclaimed that the high-five should be cool again, and soon. We do this but for the general, sir.
I’ve noticed that most writers, artists, and editors in the comic industry are just as geeky as the fans – in fact most of them are fans who just got lucky enough to end up on the other side of the table. Sure, there are writers and artists that don’t suit my particular tastes, but you know what? I just don’t buy those books. I can’t even keep up with everything by the writers and artists I love, much less spend time & money on the ones I don’t care for.
By now, most of the ultra-comic-fan community has heard about the Yellow Hat debacle at last week’s Chicago Comicon. I’m not going to link to this guy, because he’s a dick. Basically, some loser fanboy decided to be an asshole to Rob Liefeld and then brag about it on teh intarwebz. And while that one Cap cover creeped me out too; I bet you didn’t know that Rob Liefeld was responsible for returning TONS of Jack Kirby’s art to his family after he died.
Yeah, I’m STILL mad about R.A. Salvatore killing Chewbacca, but I’m not going to walk up to the guy and insult him as though he personally ruined my life. I’m just mad he killed Chewbacca. And while the fangirl in me was PISSED OFF, I must grudgingly admit that at the very least our beloved Wookiee died for a good reason.
But, hey-wha, I also know Chewbacca isn’t REAL, and Peter Mayhew’s still going to be on the back wall at SDCC every year until he dies, which is AWESOME. If I don’t like that Chewie’s dead – I’m just going to stop reading EU Star Wars books. And I’m certainly not going to leave a flaming bag of poo on Salvatore’s table at a con. In fact, I’d probably just want to pick his brain about why on EARTH he decided to kill Chewie.
Most hardcore fans of ANYTHING are a little intense and kind of overwhelming. But seriously? Don’t be a dick.
Just Say No!

Just Say No!

Comic book fans are lucky. The creators we look up to are far more accessible than most. Lord knows we made the high fiving arms of some of our favorite writers and artists sore at SDCC this year. In fact, Rob and I accosted Dan DiDio himself for high fives just after the DC Editor-in-Chief himself pulled an Anti-Monitor action figure out of a bag, proclaiming that it was AWESOME.

Apparently, the figure wasn’t actually for sale, just on display. DiDio wanted to buy it, and the vendor refused until he said, “I’m Dan DiDio! Let me buy the Anti-Monitor!” or something to that effect. Seriously, all geeks should be so lucky. Mr. DiDio also proclaimed that the high-five should be cool again, and soon. We do this but for the general, sir.

I’ve noticed that most writers, artists, and editors in the comic industry are just as geeky as the fans – in fact most of them are fans who just got lucky enough to end up on the other side of the table. Sure, there are writers and artists that don’t suit my particular tastes, but you know what? I just don’t buy those books. I can’t even keep up with everything by the writers and artists I love, much less spend time & money on the ones I don’t care for.

By now, most of the hardcore comic-fan community has heard about the Yellow Hat debacle at last week’s Chicago Comicon. I’m not going to link to this guy, because he’s a dick. Basically, some loser fanboy decided to be an asshole to Rob Liefeld and then brag about it on teh intarwebz. And while that one Cap cover creeped me out too; I bet you didn’t know that Rob Liefeld was responsible for returning TONS of Jack Kirby’s art to his family after he died.

Yeah, I’m STILL mad about R.A. Salvatore killing Chewbacca, but I’m not going to walk up to the guy and insult him as though he personally ruined my life. I’m just mad he killed Chewbacca. And while the fangirl in me was PISSED OFF, I must grudgingly admit that at the very least our beloved Wookiee died for a good reason.

But, hey-wha, I also know Chewbacca isn’t REAL, and Peter Mayhew’s still going to be on the back wall at SDCC every year until he dies, which is AWESOME. If I don’t like that Chewie’s dead – I’m just going to stop reading EU Star Wars books. And I’m certainly not going to leave a flaming bag of poo on Salvatore’s table at a con. In fact, I’d probably just want to pick his brain about why on EARTH he decided to kill Chewie.

Most hardcore fans of ANYTHING are a little intense and kind of overwhelming. You’re not going to like every artist and every writer out there. But seriously? Don’t be a dick.

3 Responses to "Thanks a Lot for Ruining Curious George, Jerk."

Well said.

I didn’t know what you were talking about at first so I did a quick Google search. Maybe you should link to him after all if for no other reason than so your readers see the comments section, which is pretty unanimous in chastising the yellowbellied…er I mean yellow hat guy.

Also, your post made me curious as to what happened, and I thought it something much more bold, daring and “funny.” What he did is pretty lame really and doesn’t even warrant props for courage or bravery or conviction or comedic timing or slapstick or, really, anything at all. I know ten year olds with better comedic chops.

I have read more of the comments and must say that if you want funny – that’s where to go! Some of them are downright gut busters!

If nothing else you could do a “best of” follow up 🙂

Well done article on the Yellow Hatted Jerk. I couldn’t stand that guy. I am not a fan of Liefeld but he is an iconic member of comic history, like it or not. Actually he isn’t responsible for half the crap he gets blame for, but I am digressing. I enjoyed this article and glad someone else can’t stand the idiot in a yellow hat.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

High Five! Twitter

  • Reading Card's "Homosexual 'Marriage' and Civilization." I wonder if he'd also be against the marriage of a Kryptonian and an Earthling. 4 years ago
  • I know Spidey & Doc Ock are stuck in the same body and all, but I wish the internet would stop calling them "Spock." THAT'S JUST CONFUSING. 4 years ago
  • Is there any place more appropriate to wear my Legion flight ring than at 30,000 feet? 5 years ago
  • R.I.P. Mr. Bradbury. If it weren't for you, I would have never gotten into science fiction at such an early age. 5 years ago
  • I'm sorry, DC, but giving the Phantom Stranger a definitive origin story in the DCnU is one of the stupidest things I've ever seen. 5 years ago
Add to Google <-Add Us!

Comic Blog Elite <-Read Them!

High Five! Comics at Blogged<-Rate Us!

High Five! Comics - Blogged

Check out the Top 50 Comics sites!

Le Counter

  • 152,887 people liked us, they REALLY liked us!
