High Five! Comics

Yeah, I Bought Archie #600. Shut Up.

Posted on: August 28, 2009

The first comic book I ever bought was a Veronica solo title back in the early nineties; and it
wasn’t one of the digests either. Twas a proper issue. If I dug through my mother’s garage or my
garage I might even be able to find it. I think Betty and Veronica made competing fitness tapes in
it? I can’t remember the plot, but I DO remember thinking Veronica was really mean. Archie comics
endure because they take those double digests and slap ’em on those racks at the grocery stores
next to those weird horoscope scrolls and the peanut butter cups. Rule #34 of the universe: If it
is sold in the checkout line of a supermarket, kids will want to buy it. That and the fact that
Archie and Friends are the Saved by the Bell of comics. Or Saved by the Bell was the Archie of TV.
Whichever.
Archie proposed to Veronica this week and people who haven’t picked up a comic in years are
pissed. I’m not. Fuck Veronica. Fuck Archie and the jalopy he rode in on. Veronica is the worst
frienemy a girl could have. She’s the girl who buys you Haagen Daas when you get dumped while
texting the guy who just dumped you to ask him out. She’s a big two-faced spoiled rich girl twit
who’s never had to really work a day in her life and she is the WORST friend EVER. Veronica’s such a bitch that she’s asking Betty to be her fucking maid of honor. Who ARE these people?
And Archie? Archie’s a twit too. Betty is the smart one. Betty is the interesting, stable,
genuine, generally not psycho bitch of the two of them. And for whatever the fuck reason, she
likes Archie. I’ve liked some guys who really didn’t deserve half a second of my time, a lot of
smart girls have. It happens. But Archie is the guy who dumped her and started dating her
frienemy, literally thousands of times. He is also a clumsy buffoonish ignorant stubborn selfish
oaf. Why Betty ever schemed to get him back from Veronica over and over again, I will never
understand. Seriously, anytime she gets around Archie, Betty goes from smart, clever, and awesome
to raging lunatic in like .5 seconds. I don’t care how much you think you love him Betty! When a
boy brings out the psycho in you, get the fuck out of there.
I’d rather date Jughead. I’m not kidding. Make him some chicken and he’ll love you forever and
never leave you or drive you insane.
Archie’s a stupid dick. Veronica’s a lazy bitchling. They deserve each other. You know what Betty deserves?
She deserves to never have to look at those two again. She deserves to meet some hot dude with a
PhD who owns horses or something. Let her live in New York and be awesome and smart. Also- she
gets to keep Jughead, Midge, Dilton and all the not-shitty people in Riverdale. Archie, Veronica, and Reggie can all go to hell.
Fuck Archie and Veronica. I hope they get married and are miserable. I WANT them to get married. I
want them to be a pair of miserable, mean, selfish brats. Oh wait, THEY ARE. I want horrid things
to happen to them because they suck so hard.
Archie & Veronica: Staying Together for the Pre-Nup
I’ll buy that comic every month!
Why do they even speak? In real life, one of them would be dead. Or boiling Archie's pet rabbit.

Why do they even speak? In real life, one of them would be dead. Or boiling Archie's pet rabbit.

Archie comics have endured because they take those double digests and slap ’em on those racks at the grocery stores next to those weird horoscope scrolls and the peanut butter cups. Rule #37 of the universe: If it is sold in the checkout line of a supermarket, kids will want to buy it. That and the fact that Archie & Pals are the Saved by the Bell of comics. Or Saved by the Bell was the Archie of TV. Whichever. The first comic book I ever bought was a Veronica solo title back in the early nineties; and it wasn’t one of the digests either. Twas a proper issue. If I dug through my mother’s garage or my garage I might even be able to find it. I think Betty and Veronica made competing fitness tapes in it? I can’t remember the plot, but I DO remember thinking Veronica was really mean.

Archie proposed to Veronica this week and people who haven’t picked up a comic in years are pissed. I’m not. Fuck Veronica. Fuck Archie and the jalopy he rode in on. Veronica is the worst frienemy a girl could have. She’s the girl who buys you Haagen Daas when you get dumped while texting the guy who just dumped you to ask him out. She’s a big two-faced spoiled rich girl twit who’s never had to really work a day in her life and she is the WORST friend EVER. Veronica’s such a bitch that she’s asking Betty to be her fucking maid of honor. Who ARE these people?

And Archie? Archie’s a twit too. Betty is the smart one. Betty is the interesting, stable, genuine, generally not psycho bitch of the two of them. And for whatever the fuck reason, she likes Archie. I’ve liked some guys who really didn’t deserve half a second of my time, a lot of smart girls have. It happens. But Archie is the guy who dumped her and started dating her frienemy, literally thousands of times. He is also a clumsy buffoonish ignorant stubborn selfish oaf. Why Betty ever schemed to get him back from Veronica over and over again, I will never understand. Seriously, anytime she gets around Archie, Betty goes from smart, clever, and awesome to raging lunatic in like .5 seconds. I don’t care how much you think you love him Betty! When a boy brings out the psycho in you, get the fuck out of there.

I’d rather date Jughead. I’m not kidding. Make him some chicken and he’ll love you forever and never leave you or drive you insane.

Archie’s a stupid dick. Veronica’s a lazy bitchling. They deserve each other. You know what Betty deserves?

She deserves to never have to look at those two again. She deserves to meet some hot dude with a PhD who owns horses or something. Let her live in New York and be awesome and smart. Also- she gets to keep Jughead, Midge, Dilton and all the not-shitty people in Riverdale. Archie, Veronica, and Reggie can all go to hell.

This thing is begging for a recap...

This thing is begging for a recap...

Fuck Archie and Veronica. I hope they get married and are miserable. I WANT them to get married. I want them to be a pair of miserable, mean, selfish brats. Oh wait, THEY ARE. I want horrid things to happen to them because they suck so hard.

Archie & Veronica: Staying Together for the Pre-Nup

I’ll buy that comic every month!

4 Responses to "Yeah, I Bought Archie #600. Shut Up."

AMEN. Betty and Jughead were the only main characters I liked. Fuck Vernonica and Archie. I haven’t even READ this new issue and I’m pissed.

Yes, the only good outcome would be Betty gets an amazing scholarship (are they still in high school?) and goes on to have an amazing career and meet far more interesting people than the idiots she went to high school with.

though I always thought Reggie and Veronica deserved each other and Archie would eventually get a clue. I guess there’s still a chance, but if Betty took him back now, I’d totally dump her as a friend for being too stupid.

OR, Archie eventually catches Ronnie in some detail of the pre-nup and gets lots of her millions in the divorce, and we find out it was a scam he and Betty cooked up anyway.

[…] Archie & Veronica’s Wedding – Maggie: SHUT UP. This issue will make 99% of women cry like babies, so just -HEY! SHUT […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

High Five! Twitter

  • Reading Card's "Homosexual 'Marriage' and Civilization." I wonder if he'd also be against the marriage of a Kryptonian and an Earthling. 4 years ago
  • I know Spidey & Doc Ock are stuck in the same body and all, but I wish the internet would stop calling them "Spock." THAT'S JUST CONFUSING. 4 years ago
  • Is there any place more appropriate to wear my Legion flight ring than at 30,000 feet? 4 years ago
  • R.I.P. Mr. Bradbury. If it weren't for you, I would have never gotten into science fiction at such an early age. 4 years ago
  • I'm sorry, DC, but giving the Phantom Stranger a definitive origin story in the DCnU is one of the stupidest things I've ever seen. 5 years ago
Add to Google <-Add Us!

Comic Blog Elite <-Read Them!

High Five! Comics at Blogged<-Rate Us!

High Five! Comics - Blogged

Check out the Top 50 Comics sites!

Le Counter

  • 152,517 people liked us, they REALLY liked us!
