High Five! Comics

DC vs. Marvel and STFU

Posted on: September 18, 2009

“Oh my gosh! Dark Horse is SO MUCH BETTER THAN IMAGE! I can’t believe you’d prefer Image to Dark Horse OH MY GOSH!”
We’d never even HAVE that conversation, right?
I despise the Marvel vs. DC debate. It’s idiotic. Brendan K. and I have gotten into it more than once (He’s convinced that Marvel is better, forever and ever the end but – and don’t tell him this – just because you can form a well structured argument thanks to all that book learnin’, it doesn’t ACTUALLY make you the be all end all arbiter of good taste. Especially if we’re arguing Namor vs. Aquaman, and you’re being a big ol’ know it all but when I say, “Well, I just like Arthur Curry’s origin story better,” you say “Who’s Arthur Curry?”)
But who gives a shit if Brendan doesn’t know who Arthur Curry is? Brendan just likes Marvel better. If you prefer Marvel, you probably aren’t terribly up to snuff on DC’s second stringers.
DC and Marvel both tell stories involving superpowered people in ridiculous costumes, but they’re not telling the same stories. Hell, they’re often not even telling stories in the same GENRE. Batman is a detective story in tights. Spider-Man is a hour long teen drama in Spandex (a good teen drama, but a teen drama nonetheless.) Superman’s an epic in a cape. The X-men are action/thriller with ridiculous hair.
I love Spidey. I lovelovelove him. And Cap. Dear lord, I love Steve Rogers, especially when Brubaker’s at the helm. The Marvels Project has been great so far too.
But you know what else has been really great? Blackest Night. Azzarello’s Batman in Wednesday Comics. Flash: Rebirth found it’s legs in issue #4. Rucka’s Detective Comics with Batwoman.
A good book is a good book, I don’t give a crap whose imprint is on the spine.
Stop trying’ to make me hate!

“Oh my gosh! Dark Horse is SO MUCH BETTER THAN IMAGE! I can’t believe you’d prefer Image to Dark Horse OH MY GOSH!”

We’d never even HAVE that conversation, right?

I despise the Marvel vs. DC debate. I hate it when people pick this fight and insist that one is better than the other. I can’t even HAVE the conversation, because choosing one over the other is like choosing between the best dark beer ever and the best wheat beer ever (I’ll have both, thanks!). Preferring Marvel over DC (or the other way around) for whatever set of perfectly valid reasons? Cool. Preferring one over the other so intensely that you honestly believe the other is inherently bad? Lame.

Brendan K. and I have gotten into it over the subject more than once. He’s convinced that Marvel is better, forever and ever the end but just because he can form a superiorly structured argument thanks to all that book learnin’, he isn’t actually the be all end all arbiter of good taste. (Sorry to break it to you, buddy.) I mean, we were arguing Namor vs. Aquaman the other day, and Brendan’s being a big ol’ know-it-all but when I said, “Well, I just like Arthur Curry’s origin story better,” he said “Who’s Arthur Curry?”

Funny, yes, but who really gives a shit if Brendan doesn’t know who Arthur Curry is? Brendan just likes Marvel better. If you’re a Marvel guy, you probably aren’t terribly up to snuff on DC’s second stringers.

DC and Marvel both tell stories involving superpowered people in ridiculous costumes, but they’re not telling the same stories. Hell, they’re often not even telling stories in the same GENRE. Batman is a detective story in tights. Spider-Man is a hour long teen drama in Spandex (a good teen drama, but a teen drama nonetheless.) Superman’s an epic in a cape. The X-men are action/thriller with ridiculous hair.

I love Spidey. I lovelovelove him. And Cap. Dear lord, I love Steve Rogers, especially when Brubaker’s at the helm. The Marvels Project has been great so far too.

But you know what else has been really great? Blackest Night. Azzarello’s Batman in Wednesday Comics. Flash: Rebirth found it’s legs in issue #4. Rucka’s Detective Comics with Batwoman.

A good book is a good book, I don’t give a crap whose imprint is on the spine. True, at any given moment I might prefer one over the other, but that doesn’t change the fact that the DC vs. Marvel debate is one of the stupidest, most pointless arguments in the world. Which is why I just spent half an hour bitching about it.

Of course, when it comes down to who wins in a fight?

superspider

Gee. I wonder who won this one?

But this fight?

Yeah, Marvel takes it.

Yeah, Marvel takes it.

6 Responses to "DC vs. Marvel and STFU"

This is the point where I pull up a chair, grab a bag of popcorn and enjoy watching the fights, er DEBATES in the comments section. Don’t dissapoint me, guys. 😀

I might come off a little bad here, but let the record show that Margaret STARTED this. SHE asked ME, thereby picking the fight.

Also, let the record state that I am 3rd party publishers first, mainstream Marvel continuity second, DC superheroes a way, way distant third. But Vertigo remains my favorite line forever and ever the end.

Namor/Aquaman?

NUH UH. I mentioned on twitter that the husband and I were talking about them, and then you got all hoity & involved, Mister Selective Memory.

😀

Fair enough, but YOU started the chat conversation. I’d have been happy with idle tweeting. And, again, I’m not a Marvel diehard, I’m a 3rd party guy first and foremost. It’s just that- IMHO- DC happens to lag way behind Marvel when I’m reading mainstream books.

[…] DC vs Marvel and STFU – Maggie gets in a snit over the silly DC vs. Marvel rivalry. […]

[…] They never really succumbed to this monkey madness, you know? For once, they seemed to be the publishing house that showed some class and was able to… AW, SON OF A […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

High Five! Twitter

  • Reading Card's "Homosexual 'Marriage' and Civilization." I wonder if he'd also be against the marriage of a Kryptonian and an Earthling. 4 years ago
  • I know Spidey & Doc Ock are stuck in the same body and all, but I wish the internet would stop calling them "Spock." THAT'S JUST CONFUSING. 4 years ago
  • Is there any place more appropriate to wear my Legion flight ring than at 30,000 feet? 5 years ago
  • R.I.P. Mr. Bradbury. If it weren't for you, I would have never gotten into science fiction at such an early age. 5 years ago
  • I'm sorry, DC, but giving the Phantom Stranger a definitive origin story in the DCnU is one of the stupidest things I've ever seen. 5 years ago
Add to Google <-Add Us!

Comic Blog Elite <-Read Them!

High Five! Comics at Blogged<-Rate Us!

High Five! Comics - Blogged

Check out the Top 50 Comics sites!

Le Counter

  • 153,291 people liked us, they REALLY liked us!
